The Board is a joint-committee of the six local authority leaders and chief executives and advisers from the two universities, two further education colleges and the private sector.

The right to vote is held by the leaders only. 


The Economic Ambition Board's vision for North Wales is to become:

‘A confident, cohesive region with sustainable economic growth, capitalising on the success of high value economic sectors and our connection to the economies of the Northern Powerhouse and Ireland.’


  • Cllr. Dyfrig Siencyn Chair / Leader, Cyngor Gwynedd
  • Cllr. Mark Pritchard Vice-Chair / Leader, Wrexham County Borough Council

  • Cllr. Llinos Medi Huws Leader, Isle of Anglesey County Council
  • Cllr. Charlie McCoubrey Leader, Conwy County Borough Council
  • Cllr. Jason McLellan Leader, Denbighshire County Council
  • Cllr. Ian Roberts Leader, Flintshire County Council


  • Professor Edmund Burke Vice-Chancellor, Bangor University
  • Dafydd Evans Chief Executive, Grŵp Llandrillo Menai
  • Professor Maria Hinfelaar Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive, Wrexham University
  • Askar Sheibani Chair, Business Delivery Board / Chief Executive, Comtek Network Systems (UK) Ltd.
  • Yana Williams Chief Executive, Coleg Cambria

Chief Executives

  • Ian Bancroft Chief Executive, Wrexham County Borough Council
  • Graham Boase Chief Executive, Denbighshire County Council
  • Neal Cockerton Chief Executive, Flintshire County Council
  • Dafydd Gibbard Chief Executive, Cyngor Gwynedd
  • Dylan Williams Chief Executive, Isle of Anglesey County Council
  • Rhun ap Gareth Chief Executive, Conwy County Borough Council